Idiocity of Sports Fanacits

Ok, so this post has to do with an argument I had today with my parents. The more I sit here, the angrier I get that they don’t see where I am coming from, so I’ll leave you, my little bloggets, to decide whether I’m right or crazy.

Today, I had the task of cleaning the two bedrooms. Recently, both of my younger brothers left the nest for job opportunities however, annoyingly they left a lot of their shit here at home for me and my rents to deal with. Well, today I was switching rooms and hanging my clothes in the closet in the other room. Now this seems like it would be an easy task, however, due to my youngest brother’s obsession with the Green Bay Packers, the closet is full, and I mean full, of Packer jerseys that he has no use for during the summer months. Why anyone needs 16 different jerseys (I counted) is beyond me. So I took this issue up with my mom, telling her I think its ridiculous that he has so many and that they are taking up my closet space. However, this isn’t the issue Im about to discuss.

The Issue: Guys/Girls (mostly guys/lesbians) who are such sports fanatics of a certain teams that they feel they needs to dress up every game and associate themselves with them. I.E. Act/talk like they are on the team.

When I discuss this issue, what I am referring to is when guys/girls/lesbians  get all dressed up in their gear and if that isn’t enough to deal with, they will talk to you throughout the game and at the end as if they are on the team. “We just didn’t play any pass defense.” “Coach should’ve taken Farve out, he’s been playing like shit all game. What is he thinking?” “We just couldn’t get any runs in the 9th to rally back.” Ok, seriously, of course you couldn’t get any runs in the bottom of the 9th, because you suck and don’t play professional baseball, and the guys out there playing actually don’t know who you are. Now to be clear, children are excluded from this rant. I, like most kids growing up, had jerseys of their favorite idols. I rocked a Reggie Miller and Michael Jordan jersey both. However, once you hit a certain age, don’t you think its time to grow up and just watch the game? When I brought this issue up with my parents and talked about how I felt my youngest brother Ian maybe needed to grow up a bit, they defended him. Straight up defended said that was normal and a lot of people do it. Okay…I get that, but just because a lot of people do it doesn’t mean its not retarded.

Naturally, I had to get back at my parents for equal opportunity purchases in the household just to prove a point. Since I don’t do jerseys, because I’m not idiotic sports fan, I told my parents I want a pair of blue nursing scrubs. Now every Thursday night when I watch Grey’s Anatomy, I can dress like my favorite doctors and then talk to my family/friends about how “we just weren’t able to save that guy tonight because the damage to his heart was to much.” Does that sound weird to anyone else because in my eyes I actually feel it’s the exact same shit I have to put with when I watch sporting events in public places…or with certain family members/friends.

Editors Note: Views were originally expressed by Whitney Cummings, however I still used them in the argument with my parents just because I like to be a bitch and tell them I am not treated equally with my brothers. 

About lienaun

Im on this blog to post once every 2 months or so. I just hope my blogs here entertain you somewhat. Anyways, in related news, Imma go smoke myself skinny. Jealous?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment